Presenting in Sessions

Presenting in Sessions

Helpful links:

Presenting

You will only be able to present if your instructor has given you the presentor role.

Note:

Without the presentor or moderator role you will not be able to use the items listed below.

“Share Content” Page in Collaborate Menu

  1. This menu allows you share content with participants in a session.  You can share (1) a Blank Whiteboard which is a blank page on which students and the moderator can write or draw, (2) an Application such as a Microsoft Word, YouTube, a web page, etc. or your entire computer screen, (3) Files such as a Word document or a PDF.  This is also where you can also conduct Polling of the participants and place the participants into Breakout Groups to work in smaller groups within the session. Want to learn more about this types of sharable content? See Whiteboard, Application, Files, Polling, or Breakout Groups for more information on using these features.

    Collaborate Ultra

Share Blank Whiteboard

  1. Click Share Blank Whiteboard.

    Collaborate Ultra

  2. You should now have a blank whiteboard that is visible to all of the participants in the session.

    Collaborate Ultra

Features of the Whiteboard

  1. There is a row of icons at the top of the page that allows you to do various things with the whiteboard. The first icon on the left allows you to Select things. The second icon is the Pointer tool which allows you to point to objects with a finger tool. The third icon is a Pencil which allows you to draw on the whiteboard. The fourth icon is the Shape tool which allows you to select a shape (rectangle, ellipse, or line) to insert on the whiteboard. The fifth icon is the Text tool which allows you to type on the screen. The sixth icon is a Clear tool which clears the entire screen.

    Collaborate Ultra

  2. Note: a color selection icon appears to the left of the Clear icon when you click the Pencil icon, the Shape icon, or the Text icon which allows you to change the color when inserting these features

    Collaborate Ultra

Viewing the Whiteboard Controls and Stopping the Whiteboard Sharing

  1. To view the Whiteboard controls click the second icon down from the top left of the page.  It looks like a page with a magnifying glass.

    Collaborate Ultra

  2. The four controls are the Zoom In and Zoom out icons, the “Fit Screen” icon, and the “actual size” icon. These allow you to adjust the way that the whiteboard appears to users.

    Collaborate Ultra

  3. To stop sharing the whiteboard, click the button next to “Share Blank Whiteboard” in the Collaborate Menu.

    Collaborate Ultra

Sharing an Application

  1. Click Share Application.

    Collaborate Ultra

  2. You will be asked if you want to share your Entire Screen or Just an Application. Select which option you want.

    Collaborate Ultra

  3. If you share your Entire Screen students will be able to see everything that you have open and your tabs, etc.  They cannot take control of your desktop, they can only view it.

    Collaborate Ultra

    Note: When you opt to share your entire screen, you may see a prompt asking if you want to share your entire screen. Share your screen.

    Collaborate Ultra

  4. If you select Just an Application, you will be asked which application you want to share.  Choose the application you want to share. NOTE:  You must already have the application open before you can share it.  We recommend opening the applications you want to share BEFORE the session starts.

    Collaborate Ultra

To Stop sharing the Application or Your Entire Screen

  1. If you want to stop sharing click the Stop button on the upper right side of the screen.

    Collaborate Ultra

Sharing a File

  1. Click Share Files.

    Collaborate Ultra

  2. Drag the file you wish to share into the box or you can click on the box to insert the file. 
    Note: The box will turn green when you drag it to the box to indicate it is correctly positioned.

    Collaborate Ultra

  3. Your file will be converted.

    Collaborate Ultra

  4. Click Share Now.

    Collaborate Ultra

  5. If your file has multiple pages, you will be asked to select a slide to view.

    Collaborate Ultra

  6. When you select a slide, your file should now appear to users.

    Collaborate Ultra

  7. To stop sharing the file, click the button in the top right of the screen.

    Collaborate Ultra